Newly Diagnosed

Home Forums Newly Diagnosed and ‘Limboland’ Newly Diagnosed

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 5 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

I am a mother of 2 boys ages 6 and 2 and I work full time as a teacher. On Nov. 3, 2011, I was diagnosed with MS after having 3 MRI’s, blood work and a physical examination. The neurologists at London Health Science Center used the MRI’s, blood work and a physical examination to conclude that I have relapsing and remitting MS. I began the Avonex pen 5 weeks ago and hope that it helps to slow the progression. I was told that I had MS since 2007 for sure, perhaps earlier. The lesions in my brain are affecting the sensory nerves. In the Spring of 2008, my face felt numb for three weeks and this repeated itself for the following 2 Springs for three weeks. Then in Feb. 2011, I was running the stairs at the arena and my right foot felt numb. I thought my shoe was tied too tight. Later(2hours), my left foot was numb and it moved up to my waist. An MRI was done after 2 weeks and showed no problem. Then the numbness moved out of my legs and into my hands. Since March 2011, both of my hands are numb and my fingers are more stiff. Another MRI done in July showed lesions in my brain. Extensive blood work was done in Oct. and another MRI with contrast highlighted the lesions and provided the neurologist with the necessary results to confirm MS. I am looking for any discussions to help me with deciding what supplements or vitamins to take. I was reading that there are a variety vitamins and supplements to aid with feeling less fatigued and help with inflammation.

January 2, 2012 at 3:09 am #6979

Anonymous

Hi!