Footsteps

Hello! I’m a 29 year-old teacher from Eastern Ontario.  I was raised totally country, down a dirt road, on the river, and am a country girl at heart!  I love hiking, biking, canoeing, all things water and just generally spending time outside; however, I am now in the city to teach. 

I have spent the last 4 years teaching elementary and middle school in Kuwait.  I absolutely love Kuwait, the opportunity to broaden my horizons, meet other people and interact with people from all over the world.  It is such a diverse country.  I love cooking, baking, and travelling. 

MS has been in my life a long time.  My Mom was diagnosed with MS when I was 10.  She has since been told that she has benign MS.  She is not followed or treated.  I became sick 2 years later and had an MRI that showed one lesion “indicative of a demyelinating disease”.  My mother instantly asked if that could be MS, but the neurologist at the time said “kids don’t get MS” (This was 17 years ago).  It took 6 years and a lot more lesions on my MRI and a positive LP, but the doctor finally diagnosed me with relapsing remitting MS.  So, yes, diagnosis can take awhile! After I was diagnosed I was stabilized on Avonex for years and decided to do as much as I could for as long as I could, which is why I took the original job in Kuwait!  I’m home in Canada now as my health was becoming very unstable so I’m now restarting life in Canada and attempting to get my health stabilized.

I have currently been on this site as AndreaS, but I choose the blogging name footsteps as I’m constantly “stepping forward” with MS and trying as long as possible to physically take footsteps.

View posts from Footsteps